Arlington Area Alumnae Chapter History

In 1964, a Theta pledge from Beaumont (Rosemary Wingate) called and encouraged Thetas from Arlington, Irving, and Grand Prairie to meet and form an alumnae club. They did, and called themselves the Dallas-Fort Worth Suburban Cities Kappa Alpha Theta Alumnae Club. Jane Roberts Wood served as the first President. Ironically, the Theta pledge who brought everyone together was not allowed to remain a member because she was never initiated!

The membership grew, and in 1981 Irving formed their own alumnae club. At that point the Club’s name was changed to the Arlington Mid-Cities Kappa Alpha Theta Alumnae Club.

In November of 1987, Thetas from Hurst-Euless-Bedford met and formed their own alumnae club with Linda Jennings serving as their first President. Our new name became the Arlington Kappa Alpha Theta Alumnae Club. This club primarily includes women from the Arlington, Mansfield, and Grand Prairie areas.

In September of 2002, the club voted to petition for Chapter status and in November of 2002 voted Arlington Area Alumnae Chapter as its new name. Michelle Urteaga, then Alumnae District President, presented the Chapter Charter to the group on December 3, 2002.

In 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018, the Arlington Area Alumnae Chapter was named a "Golden Kite" chapter - one of the highest awards the Fraternity can bestow.